Senior Software Engineer

New York, NY

140.00 /HR


I have a University degree on Computer Science and an MSc on Telecommunications. My profession is Software Engineer. I have 25 years of experience on application development on various programming languages, C, C++, Java, VB .NET, C#. The last 3 and a half years I am designing and developing projects in the world of Ruby and in particular on Ruby on Rails. I love teaching and I have teaching experience both remotely and locally, on both adults and kids.

Teaching Methods

95% of the teaching is hands-on experience. The students are building the application. I am remotely connected to their computer and they type in what they have to type in. So, students learn by real experience. Leaving the class, they have to review and polish their work with specific tasks that need to be accomplished till the next class. Also, I am accompanying my teaching with lots of quizzes that reinforce the learning and they are very good for the students to refresh their knowledge and evaluate their level of understanding.


  • MSc in Telecommunications from University College London in Telecommunications in 1998
  • Computer Science and Telecommunications from University of Athens in Computer Science in 1996

Professional History

  • CTO at Book&Table in NYC from 2013 - Present
  • Chief Software Engineer at e-Travel SA in from 2011 - 2014
  • Chief Software Architect at Fraudpointer S.A. in from 2010 - 2011
  • Chief Architect at E-TRAVEL S.A. in Athens/Greece from 2010 - 2014
  • General Partner at Rayo at Rayo in from 2007 - 2010
  • Chief Architect at Rayo LTD in Athens/Greece from 2006 - 2010
  • IT Applications Development Manager at On Telecoms S.A. in Athens/Greece from 2006 - 2007
  • Developer / Development Team Leader / Project Manager at Intracom S.A. in Athens/Greece from 1998 - 2006

About Me

I am a real person, but I type in like a robot.

The first thing that really learned in my life was to never give up. I am optimistic and I do not see problems. I only see challenges.

I spend most of the time in front of my computer. While not there, I spend time with my wife and two kids. I take my son to basketball games and we enjoy that very much. Or we are watching together soccer. One good thing to have another guy in the family. My daughter and wife hate us when we take TV in private and don't let anybody else watch.

I love reading and watching movies or TV series (like Breaking Bad or Game of Thrones).

I also like bicycle riding and sometimes I also ride a motorbike (Moto Guzzi are my favourite ones), but that latter one I do not tell it to my mom.

Hope that we will have fun together while doing our classes.

References (2)

Panayotis M.

06:05 AM 04/Jul/15

Relationship: Friend

Very good teacher

Long T.

07:34 AM 16/Jul/14

Relationship: Friend

Beside his handsome, Panayotis is a great Tutor. All of his courses are easy to understand, cover many topics, and he requires a lot of hard-work from his students. I would recommend Mr Panayotis for any serious professional learning.